PAEBAC
18-05-2002, 11:37 PM
..........and mp3.com.au , I don't know about other webhosting sites cos I don't use them .
Basically if someone sends u an e-mail through either of these sites ..u can not reply to it... they change the original senders address so when u hit reply the e-mail can not be sent.
This has happened numerous times to me so people must think I am an ignorant f**ker. Anywayz, the main implication is that if a record label wanted to contact you it means they would have to go through vitaminic, who would no doubt negotiate a deal and contact you with a licensing agreement through them.
About a year ago I received a letter from vitaminic with a contract asking for my signature for a drum n bass compilation as a promotional cd for Fila Sports .... the only payment to be received would be 0.20 euros per sale. Which lets face it , is jack shit.
i am raising this point because one of my friends has been signed to Lenny Dee's Industrial Strength label , he has taken his tunes off all of these kind of websites.
i think the e-mail thing is disgraceful n misleads the artists, there is certainly nothing about this in the terms and conditions when u sign up.
Why do these websites provide a free service and still make a profit ??
I think it is because they exploit you , vitaminics angle seems to be as becoming an online manager for the artist.
With mp3.com it is different. You can go on that site and pay a price to download Technical Itch , they aim to get the bigger artists involved to atttract people who are into the scene ..... they dont care about new artists...they want your money ... they know that the more members they have the more services (with prices) they can offer them.
One website ...djcentral.com is even charging money for u to upload your tracks onto their site ....I hope this will be the downfall of the site and not an indication as to the future of these kind of hosting sites. You know if it works plenty will follow suit.
Anywayz , that's just my little rant for the night.
Would be nice to hear what other producers think about this.
Basically if someone sends u an e-mail through either of these sites ..u can not reply to it... they change the original senders address so when u hit reply the e-mail can not be sent.
This has happened numerous times to me so people must think I am an ignorant f**ker. Anywayz, the main implication is that if a record label wanted to contact you it means they would have to go through vitaminic, who would no doubt negotiate a deal and contact you with a licensing agreement through them.
About a year ago I received a letter from vitaminic with a contract asking for my signature for a drum n bass compilation as a promotional cd for Fila Sports .... the only payment to be received would be 0.20 euros per sale. Which lets face it , is jack shit.
i am raising this point because one of my friends has been signed to Lenny Dee's Industrial Strength label , he has taken his tunes off all of these kind of websites.
i think the e-mail thing is disgraceful n misleads the artists, there is certainly nothing about this in the terms and conditions when u sign up.
Why do these websites provide a free service and still make a profit ??
I think it is because they exploit you , vitaminics angle seems to be as becoming an online manager for the artist.
With mp3.com it is different. You can go on that site and pay a price to download Technical Itch , they aim to get the bigger artists involved to atttract people who are into the scene ..... they dont care about new artists...they want your money ... they know that the more members they have the more services (with prices) they can offer them.
One website ...djcentral.com is even charging money for u to upload your tracks onto their site ....I hope this will be the downfall of the site and not an indication as to the future of these kind of hosting sites. You know if it works plenty will follow suit.
Anywayz , that's just my little rant for the night.
Would be nice to hear what other producers think about this.